行政總監報告

2017 會長及首席行政總監報告

2016/2017年度是耆暉會忙碌的一年, 因應安省醫療保健系統通過的「病人為先」( Patients First Act) 41 號法案, 耆暉會調整和改革了管理架構,積極配合新政策的轉變, 帶動綜合整體的醫療系統, 為社區提供更高質素的護理服務。

耆暉會的多項架構改革包括設立了「客戶及家庭諮詢委員會」、增多了一層高級管理人員及精簡了管理部門的工作範疇, 這些改革增強了客戶互動和提高了管理系統的效率。此外, 耆暉會還開拓了幾個創新項目, 如流動醫療車, 以滿足社區獨特的健康服務需求。耆暉會的目標是為大眾提供及安排綜合整體護理服務, 並與其他機構合作, 讓客戶容易獲得優質的服務。

這份年報將會縱覽本會創新服務的發展, 從與社區夥伴關係的提高, 用以推進綜合服務的亮點。以下是我們過去一年的一些主要成果:

  • 實施耆暉會2016-2021五年服務策略計劃: 策略計劃為本會的發展提供了堅實的基礎。耆暉會積極地執行五大策略, 包括發展耆暉會的綜合整體護理模式, 並定期向相關界別人士報告其他策略的進展情況。
  •  

  • 建立 「 客戶及家庭諮詢委員會 」: 諮詢委員會由客戶、護理員工和家庭成員組成, 在2016/2017年度舉行了兩次會議。通過共同討論, 委員會對耆暉會的場地設置、政策、活動和與工作人員的互動等提出建議, 有助加強我們提供以客為本的護理服務, 提高客戶和家庭對服務的滿意率。
  •  

  • 發展流動醫療車(Medical Mobile Unit) : 項目部分資金由政府提供, 為偏遠和服務不足地區的家庭和孤立的長者提供不同的醫療保健及促進健康和保健服務的臨床支援。流動醫療車的服務概念來自2010年的冬季奧運於Whistler選手村, 為冬奧選手提供醫療手術服務。而耆暉會的流動醫療車將會駛往不同地方提供外展醫療服務、推廣健康教育及其他保健服務。耆暉會感謝善長慷慨捐助, 加上政府資助令這個嶄新項目得以實行。
  •  

  • 獲得優質服務鑑證模範榮譽: 耆暉會在2017年6月12日至15日接受第五次的實地評審視察。本會卓越的品質服務, 超出了質量檢定的要求,護加拿大優質服務鑑證局頒發「全面認可及模範榮譽」, 並得到評審員高度讚揚耆暉會董事會和管理層的的領導能力。耆暉會上下為獲得認證感到自豪, 並會持續安全及優質服務的傳統文化。
  •  

  • 與士嘉堡及紅河谷醫院合作, 為患者提供綜合整體護理的輔助腹膜透析(aPD)服務: 士嘉堡醫院及耆暉會加強現有的合作關係, 發展使需要腹膜透析輔助的病人在適當的時間獲得適當的支援。這綜合整體護理模式的應用, 使病人無需前往洗腎中心而可安在家中接受腹膜透析護理, 我們深信此項合作可幫助改善及提升護理質素。

如果沒有我們的名譽顧問、董事會董事、職員、義工的辛勤工作、奉獻和熱誠, 耆暉會去年便不能有如此驕人的成績及機會。我們在此謹向各撥款機構和捐贈者, 衷心感謝您們對耆暉會慷慨的支持。耆暉會將不斷努力為客戶提供優質、全面的服務, 以滿足社區必要及不斷改變的需求。

 

譚耀榮醫生, 會長

梁樂欣,  首席行政總監

X

Report from Management

2017 Report from President and Chief Executive Officer

2016/2017 has been a hectic year at Carefirst as it marks the organization’s structural changes and alignment to the changing Ontario health care system due to the passing and implementation of Bill 41, Patients First Act. Carefirst has been proactive and nimble for the paradigm shift brought about by the Ministry’s system changes and priorities, which will lead to a more localized and integrated health care system, improving the client experience and delivering higher-quality care.

Carefirst undertook several structural changes, such as establishing the Client and Family Advisory Council, adding another layer of senior management, and streamlining the management’s portfolios, for the purposes of developing a more engaged and open system in working with the clients and families; and re-engineering a more accountable and efficient management/operational system within Carefirst.  In addition, Carefirst has also developed several innovative projects, such as the medical mobile unit, to meet the unique health needs of the community.  The objective is to benefit our clients/families that they have care services that are easier to access, easier to navigate, and better coordinated tthrough collaborations, partnerships and integration of services.

Throughout this annual report you will find highlights of our significant milestone developments and community partnerships to advancing quality integrated services to our clients and families.  Some of our key accomplishments are described as below:

  • Implementing Carefirst Five Year Strategic Plan 2016-2021:  Carefirst’s new strategic plan provides a solid foundation to guide the organization’s growth with five strategic imperatives. Carefirst is vigorously implanting these strategies and progressively implementing the identified imperatives, including the development of the Carefirst INTEGRATE model of care. Carefirst is privileged to share  with other organizations its experience and journey in adopting the care model in terms of the key ingredients and evidence-based outcomes. The progress of other imperatives are being tracked and communicated to the key stakeholders on a regular basis.
  •  

  • Establishing the Client and Family Advisory Council:  Carefirst is committed to provide client-and-family-centred service and looks through the lens of their clients and families. Client and family advisors play a valuable role in helping to ensure the best client experience at Carefirst. The Advisory Council is consisted of clients, caregivers and family members who can provide a client and family voice, and who partner with staff to improve experiences of care. The Council has met twice in 2016/2017 to co-design and participate in discussion that shapes facility design, policies, programs, and staff interactions, which Carefirst believes will lead to better service outcomes, and greater client and family satisfaction.
  •  

  • Pioneering the Development of a Medical Mobile Unit (MMU):  Carefirst is partially funded by the Central LHIN for the development of the medical mobile unit to serve the homebound and socially isolated seniors in the remote and underservedareas. The MMU concept originally provided critical and surgical care capability in the Whistler Athletes Village during the 2010 Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games.  For Carefirst, the MMU is a flexible outreach health care service offering clinical support ranging from primary care to wellness health promotion and health maintenance services. Health education is a major component of the MMU, and the unit delivers clinical education everywhere it travels. Carefirst is thankful to the donors who donated generously to match the government funding in making this pioneering project possible.
  •  

  • Achieving Accreditation Exemplary Standard:  Carefirst underwent its 5th round of on-site accreditation survey which took place from June 12 to June 15, 2017.  Carefirst is accredited with Exemplary Standard and was commended by the surveyors to have gone beyond the requirements of Qmentum accreditation program.  Carefirst demonstrates excellence in quality improvement. The surveyors also highly commended Carefirst Board of Directors and senior management in providing leadership to success and growth of the organization. For Carefirst, accredited with Accreditation is a mark of pride and a way to create a strong and sustainable culture o quality and safety across the organization.
  •  

  • Partnering with Scarborough and Rouge Hospital – New Integrated Care for assisted Peritoneal Dialysis (aPD) PatientsScarborough and Rouge Hospital and Carefirst leverage on their existing partnership to develop this proactive approach to enhance the quality and integration of care for the aPD patients by improving access to the right supports at the right time and enabling patients who would otherwise not choose home PD but go onto in center hemodialysis. The partners believe that the application of this integrated model of care to the aPD programs will not only advance home dialysis, but improve the integration and quality of care for the PD patients and their families.

This year’s extraordinary achievements and newfound opportunities could not have been made possible without the passion, hard work, and dedication of our Honorary Advisors, Board of Directors, staff, volunteers, and stakeholders. We would like to express our appreciation for our collaborative service partners and the continuous support of our funders and donors.  As always, Carefirst continuously strives to change and further integrate to provide quality and comprehensive services to meet the essential needs of the community.

 

Dr. Paul Tam, President

Helen Leung,  Chief Executive Officer

X