耆晖职业培训中心

“We continue to support the important work that personal support workers pro-vide to our communities and health care system. The registry will give the people of Ontario the confidence and reassurance that the care they choose to receive is of the highest quality and standard.”

Dr. Eric Hoskins (former Minister of Health and Long-Term Care)

授权声明

耆晖职业培训中心认识到,个人支持工作者是医疗保健行业的宝贵成员。他们的贡献增加了个人在社区和机构环境中独立生活的能力。我们的目标是教育我们所有的学生关于质量保证为所有年龄的客户,以及与我们的服务合作伙伴和服务提供商维持生产关系。

 

 

个人护理工作者证书课程

我们的课程:

 

我们全职计划的亮点:
  • 25周(包括理论与实践)
  • 有经验和合格的教练(教学团队包括RN,RPN,专门从事成人教育的教师和物理治疗师)
  • 小班,最多20名学生
  • 为学生安排安置机会

 

开始日期
  • 四月(春季)
  • 九月(秋季)

欲了解更多耆晖的个人护理工作者证书课程,请联系 Karen Hung:
电话: (416) 847-2767
电邮: training@carefirstontario.ca

 

PSW省级考试的传说

有一个传说,PSW有一个最后的安大略考试,或更普遍地,被国家职业学院协会告诉,NACC考试是省级考试。
两者都是错的

个人护理教育认证计划(PEPA)已经收到了一些关于PSW进入实践的投诉。其中许多问题集中在一个信念,即安大略省有一个“省级PSW考试”,毕业生必须通过才有资格参加工作。

虽然对学校必须教授的标准有限制,但安大略省并不要求毕业生在作为PSW工作之前完成省级考试。

有四所教育机构在安大略合法地提供PSW教育:

  • 继续/成人教育部门的校董会
  • 社区学院
  • 私立职业学院(由省授权)
  • 基于协会的教育者(第三方非营利性计划)

这四所教育机构必须遵守最低纲领长度,如果毕业生有资格在长期护理院工作,就可以参加3套标准。请注意,该省并不要求对毕业生进行任何“程序终止”考试。

使用全国职业学院协会课程的学校可以选择编写程序考试结束。这个考试不是省级就业的要求,也不应该被认为是PSW顺利完成PSW计划的替代品。同样,完成课程考试的任何结束都不是要包括在PSW注册表中。

PSW成功完成核准的PSW计划是雇主保证雇用资格。

如果您对此有疑问,请联系 PEPA 主任 Lynelle Hamilton:
电话: (416) 256-3010 ext. 279
电话: 1 (800) 267-6272 ext. 279
电邮: lynelle@pswepa.ca

服务发展概览

个人护理员证书课程

      • 重新设计的训练课堂时数增加至650个小时。新的课程在2016 秋季学期推出。新计划预备毕业生能提供复杂的个人护理需求。
      • 因着耆晖职业培训中心提高的个人护理员培训的高质素课程,毕业生在毕业后短期内有就业机会。
      • 耆晖职业培训中心特别感谢训练合作伙伴﹕ 耆晖会成人日间中心、孟尝长期护理院舍、Participation House、圣保罗社区中心、Tendercare Living Centre 、 Transcare Community Support Services 及Scarborough Centre for Healthy Communities 为学员提供实习机会。在训练合作伙伴机构丰富经验的监督员带领下学习,实习学生均能获取可贵的工作相关经验。

社区提升课程计划 – 继续向华人社区提供以华语为主的相关课程。耆晖会的社区提升课程将适合华人文化的相关知识带给华人社区,增强个人服务社区的潜力。产后护理服务员培训服务–「陪月服务」是社区中高度需求的课程之一。

未来发展 – 为了满足社区服务界需要更多前线合资格和拥有高质素训练的人员来支持日益增长的服务需求,耆晖会职业培训中心正在努力扩大培训计划, 包括膳食服务人员计划和个人护理员提升计划,以满足社区的需求。

Photo Albums (password required)

X

Vocational Training

Click here for VTC newsletter (May 2018).

Click here for VTC newsletter (Oct 2018).

“We continue to support the important work that personal support workers pro-vide to our communities and health care system. The registry will give the people of Ontario the confidence and reassurance that the care they choose to receive is of the highest quality and standard.”

Dr. Eric Hoskins (former Minister of Health and Long-Term Care)

 

Mandate Statement

Carefirst Vocational Training Centre recognizes that Personal Support Workers are valuable members of the health care profession. Their contribution increases individual capacity for independent living in both community and institutional settings. Our aim is to educate all our students regarding quality care for clients of all ages, as well as to maintain productive relationships with our service partners and service providers.

 

Personal Support Worker Certificate Program

Our program is:

 

Highlights of our full-time program:

  • 25 weeks (including theory and practicum)
  • Experienced and qualified instructors (the teaching team includes an RN, an RPN, a social worker, a physiotherapist and a teacher specialized in adult education)
  • Small classes with a maximum of 20 students
  • Arranged placement opportunities for students

Service Highlights

PSW Certificate Program

      • The approved redesigned training curriculum, with 650 hours, was rolled out in 2016 Fall Semester. The new program prepares graduates to provide care to individuals with complex care needs.
      • With the high quality of the Carefirst PSW training, many graduates are employed soon after graduation.
      • The Centre would like to extend our sincere gratitude to the partner training organizations: Carefirst’s Adult Day Programs, Mon Sheong Long Term Care Centre, Participation House, Seniors Persons Living Connected, Tendercare Living Centre, TransCare Community Support Services, and Scarborough Centre for Healthy Communities for supporting the PSW student practicum placements. Under the coaching and mentoring of experienced supervisors from the partner agencies during the practicum, the students are able to gain
        valuable work related experience.

FAQ: The Myth of the PSW Provincial Exam

There is a myth that PSWs have a final Ontario Exam, or more commonly, have been told by National Association of Career Colleges that the NACC exam is the provincial exam.
Both are false.

The Personal Support Education Accreditation Programme (PEPA) has received several complaints with regards to a PSW’s entry to practice. Many of these issues have centred on a belief that Ontario has a “provincial PSW exam” that graduates must pass before they are eligible for employment.

While there are restrictions on the standards to which a school must teach, Ontario does NOT require graduates to complete a provincial examination prior to working as a PSW.

There are four educational institutes legitimately provide PSW education in Ontario:

  • School boards, under Continuing/Adult Education Divisions
  • Community Colleges
  • Private Career Colleges (authorized by the province)
  • Association-based educators (third-party not-for-profit programmes)

These four educational institutes must adhere to minimum programme length and to one of 3 sets of standards if their graduates are to be eligible for employment as a PSW in long-term care home. Note that the province does not mandate any “end of programme” examination for graduates.

Schools using the National Association of Career Colleges curriculum have the option of writing an end of programme exam. This examination is NOT a provincial requirement for employment, nor should it be considered a replacement for a PSW’s successful completion of a PSW programme. Similarly, completion of any end of programme examination is not a requirement for inclusion on the PSW Registry.

The PSW’s successful completion of an approved PSW programme is the employer’s assurance of eligibility for employment.

If you have questions about this, please contact Lynelle Hamilton, Director of PEPA at:
Tel : (416) 256-3010 ext. 279
Tel : (1800) 267-6272 ext. 279
Email: lynelle@pswepa.ca

Care Attendant For Post-Natal Services

Community Enhancement Program – Linguistically accessible curriculums continued to be delivered to the Chinese population. Carefirst’s community enhancement courses bring culturally relevant knowledge to the Chinese community, enhancing their individual and community capacity. The Care Attendant Training for Post-Natal services is one of the highly demanded programs in the community.

Our Program is:

  • 12-hour program in Cantonese or Mandarin
  • Instructed by a Registered Nurse or Nurse Practitioner
  • Click here to see pdf flyer
  • Click here to see upcoming class information

Other Courses

Future Development – To meet the community service sector needs for more frontline ualified and well trained personnel to support the increasing service needs, Carefirst VTC is working on to expanding the training programs to meet the needs of the community.

Click here for Food Handler Certification course.

Click here for Enhancement in English course.

Click here for Home Helper Training.

For more information, please contact Karen Hung:
Tel     : (416) 847-2767
Email: training@carefirstontario.ca

Photo Albums (password required)

X